Countries that Start with D

Exploring the diverse nations of the world reveals fascinating facts and unique characteristics that make each country distinct. Among the many countries, five share the commonality of starting with the letter “D.” These countries, spread across different continents, offer a rich tapestry of cultures, histories, and landscapes. From Denmark’s Nordic beauty to Dominica’s tropical charm, each nation has its own story to tell.

In this article, we delve into the capitals, populations, areas, and official languages of Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, uncovering the unique attributes that define them.

Here are the details for the countries that start with “D”:


  • Capital: Copenhagen
  • Population: Approximately 5.9 million
  • Area: 42,933 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Danish


  • Capital: Djibouti City
  • Population: Approximately 1 million
  • Area: 23,200 square kilometers
  • Official Language: French, Arabic


  • Capital: Roseau
  • Population: Approximately 72,000
  • Area: 750 square kilometers
  • Official Language: English

Dominican Republic

  • Capital: Santo Domingo
  • Population: Approximately 10.8 million
  • Area: 48,671 square kilometers
  • Official Language: Spanish

Democratic Republic of the Congo

  • Capital: Kinshasa
  • Population: Approximately 95 million
  • Area: 2,344,858 square kilometers
  • Official Language: French

Read: Countries Begin with ‘S’