Kansas Time Zone

Kansas is in the Central Time Zone, with a minor west border portion in the Mountain Time Zone. Saline, Wichita, Kansas City, Topeka, Hays, and Dodge City are among the cities in the Central Standard Time Zone. Greeley, Hamilton, Sherman, and Wallace are among the cities in the Mountain Standard Time Zone. 

During the summer, Kansas time zones observe Daylight Saving Time. Currently, the majority of the country observes Central Daylight Time, while the little west border section observes Mountain Daylight Time.

History of Kansas Time Zone

Originally, Kansas observed Central Standard Time (CST). The state adopted daylight saving time (DST) during the summer months in 1948. The Uniform Time Act of 1966, however, standardized DST across the country by shifting its beginning and ending dates. Since then, Kansas has adhered to this schedule.

Understanding the history and regulations of time zones can have significant effects on punctuality and productivity, despite appearing to be a minor detail. Whether you’re planning a road excursion or a conference call, it’s essential to know the correct time zone. Remember to adjust your timepieces accordingly when in Kansas!

Read More: Costa Rica Time Zone

What Time Zone in Kansas?

Kansas has two distinct time zones. The vast portion of the state, including Wichita, Kansas City, and Overland Park, is in the Central Time Zone and observes daylight savings, therefore there are two clocks depending on the season. 

  • Central Standard Time (CST): – 6:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
  • Central Daylight Time (CDT): – 5:00 UTC/GMT (behind)

Only four counties in the west, accounting for around 6% of the state, are in the Mountain Time zone and follow daylight savings, resulting in two distinct clocks depending on the season.

  • Mountain Standard Time (MST): – 7:00 UTC/GMT (behind)
  • Mountain Daylight Time (MDT): – 6:00 UTC/GMT (behind)

Some neighboring states (Oklahoma, Missouri, and the majority of Nebraska) are in the central time zone. When you cross the boundary between Colorado and Nebraska’s southwestern tip, you will enter the Mountain Time Zone. 

Kansas Time Zone Information

Kansas is in the Central Time Zone, which means that the time is Central Standard Time (CST) during the day and Central Daylight Time (CDT) during the night.

Kansas Time Zone NameCentral Time Zone
Time zone abbreviationCDT
Kansas City time changeNext time change is in 4 months and 22 days, set your clock back 1 hour
DST startedSunday 12 March 2023, 02:00 local standard time (CST)
DST endsSunday 05 November 2023, 02:00 local daylight time (CDT)
Standard time zoneUTC/GMT -6 hours
Daylight saving time+1 hour
The current time zone offsetUTC/GMT -5:00 hours
Latitude39° 06′ 51″ North
Longitude94° 37′ 39″ West

Daylight Saving Time in Kansas City

Each country changes its time according to Daylight Saving Time laws on a different day of the year, which may or may not coincide with the start of summer. That is why we urge that you verify the time change dates to keep current.

These are the time change dates in Kansas City during 2023:

  • Daylight Saving Time in Kansas City starts on: Sunday 12 March 2023 01:00 (DST) UTC/GMT -5h
  • Daylight Saving Time in Kansas City ends on: Sunday 05 November 2023 01:00 (STD) UTC/GMT -6h

Also Read: Germany Time Zone

Schedule a Phone Call from Kansas to Nebraska

Kansas (KS) and Nebraska (NE) are both in the same time zone. So you can call someone during normal business hours and they will receive the same message as you. When scheduling a call, be sure to check daylight savings for any time changes. Those living in Kansas who wish to call a friend in Nebraska can do so between 7:00 AM and 11:00 PM local time. 

As Nebraska (NE) and Kansas (KS) are in the same time zone, this will be between 7 AM and 11 PM their time. You may want to try between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM your time if you’re available at any time and want to reach someone in Nebraska at work. During normal business hours, 9 AM – 5 PM is the best time to reach them.

9:00 AM9:00 AM
10:00 AM10:00 AM
11:00 AM11:00 AM
12:00 PM12:00 PM
1:00 PM 1:00 PM 
2:00 PM2:00 PM
3:00 PM3:00 PM
4:00 PM4:00 PM
5:00 PM5:00 PM


Daylight saving time is observed in Kansas, and it starts on the second Sunday of March and ends on the first Sunday of November. During daylight saving time, clocks are adjusted by one hour to maximize sunlight during longer days. However, some people argue that daylight saving time can disrupt sleep patterns and lead to health problems.

In conclusion, Kansas follows the Central Time Zone and observes daylight saving time. The state’s history with time zones dates back to before the adoption of a standardized system in 1883. Knowing the correct time zone in Kansas is essential for scheduling appointments or making travel arrangements within the state. Whether you’re visiting for business or pleasure, you can enjoy your trip without worrying about any unexpected surprises related to time differences.

Related Post: Oregon Time Zone

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the primary time zone in Kansas?

Kansas is located in the Central Time Zone (CT), which is the major time zone in the state.

Does Kansas have 2 time zones?

The majority of Kansas is on Central Time, with the exception of four counties on the Colorado border: Sherman, Wallace, Greeley, and Hamilton.

Does any part of Kansas follow a different time zone?

Yes, the Mountain Time Zone (MT) is observed in a tiny section of western Kansas, encompassing counties such as Greeley, Hamilton, and Sherman.

What is the GMT time for Kansas?

The majority of Kansas is located in the Central Time Zone of the United States. Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-6) is 6 hours behind Central Standard Time (CST).